Reading Group Notes

Extra content on a selection of titles which are perfect for kick-starting discussions in your book group!

 
 The Kindness of Enemies by Leila Aboulela

For fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and THE NARROW ROAD TO THE DEEP NORTH, a sweeping novel from the three times Orange Prize longlisted, Scottish Book Award and Caine Prize winner Leila Aboulela.

Notes contain an author’s note about the inspiration behind the book, a Q&A with author Sarita plus discussion points for your reading group.

Download the Reading Group Notes

Good Hope Road by Sarita Mandanna

How can the son of a man damaged by war learn to love? How can a father tormented by the past reach out to his son? From the author of TV book club pick, Tiger Hills, an epic tale about love, loss and hope.

Notes contain an author’s note about the inspiration behind the book, a Q&A with author Sarita plus discussion points for your reading group.

Download the Reading Group Notes

 

The Fair Fight by Anna Freeman

For fans of Sarah Waters, a vibrant, visceral tale of courage, reinvention and fighting your way to the top in Georgian Bristol.

Notes contain a Q&A with author Anna, an essay on the inspiration for the novel, plus discussion points for your reading group.

Download the Reading Group Notes

 

Not Forgetting the Whale by John Ironmonger

An uplifting, charming and thought-provoking novel about humanity, love . . . and a whale.

Notes contain a conversation with author John Ironmonger, plus points for discussion around the novel.

Download the Reading Group Notes

 

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

The gripping second novel from the author of the mega-bestselling Gone Girl

Download the Reading Group notes

 

The Goddess and the Thief by Essie Fox

A beguiling and sensual Victorian novel of theft and obsession

Download the Reading Group Notes

 

The Lantern by Deborah Lawrenson

A brooding, contemporary novel of secrets, lost love, perfume and Provence

Download the Reading Group Notes

 

The Misbegotten by Katherine Webb

Secrets and haunting mysteries . . . A wonderfully powerful and poignant historical novel from the author of The Legacy

Download the Reading Group Notes

 

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen by Paul Torday

An extraordinary, beguiling bestselling tale of fly-fishing and political spinning, of unexpected heroism and late-blooming love . . .

Download the Reading Group Notes